Weekly Roundup May 23 – May 29

Instead of posting news all over the place I thought I would just keep all of them in one post as a weekly update… unless it’s some big news (MW3 always counts as big news to me). There’s only 2 days left in the week but subsequently I’ll start the post on Monday and update it as and when right up to Sunday (since stuff like discounts might be over if it’s just a one-time post).

Weekly Bargains (iTunes App Store)

EA Sale for Memorial Day with plenty of titles going for $0.99, including FIFA 11, SCRABBLE, The Sims 3 (and its “expansions”) etc. You can check the full list here.

Gameloft also has various titles at $0.99, including Assassin’s Creed: Altaïr’s Chronicles HD, Dungeon Hunter 2, Sacred Odyssey: Rise of Ayden HD. You can check the full list here.

geoDefense and TowerMadness HD are free; Sentinel 3: Homeworld, Vampire Rush (and the HD version) are at $0.99; Plants vs Zombies HD is at $1.99.

Various Com2uS games are also on sale at $0.99 — Third Blade, Queen’s Crown, Caligo Chaser, Inotia 3: Children of Carnia, Inotia 2: A Wanderer of Luone, Chronicles of Inotia

Neuroshima Hex at $2.99, down from $4.99; Neuroshima Hex Puzzle at $0.99, down from $2.99.

Phoenix Wright movie confirmed for next year

Coming to (Japanese) the big screen in early spring 2012. I’m a big fan of Phoenix Wright (aka Gyakuten Saiban in Japan) (although I only played the sequel half-way and I haven’t played any others after that, as with many games) so I’m pretty excited about this. I used to watch Japanese dramas so I’ve seen Narimiya Hiroki, who will play Phoenix Wright, act before, not bad from what I can remember. Haven’t watched any of Saito Takumi’s (Miles Edgeworth) shows but he should look the part, at least. Last but not least, Kiritani Mirei will play Maya Fey. I’ve only seen her act in a show where she was a side character so the only thing I can remember is that she’s pretty. Kinda tall for Maya Fey though.

Phoenix Wright movie

The gents and lady of the Phoenix Wright movie.

The movie might see a Western release, depending on how well it does I suppose. The DS games seem to be doing well, so that’s a good thing. Not sure how many Japanese movies actually make it to the Western market, but there should be a subtitled release in cinemas here (yay).

Phoenix Wright

TAKE THAT!

Japan and Asian PlayStation Network service restarting tomorrow

Haven’t really been following the news but I think PSN has been up in the US for maybe a few days already. The games they’re offering for Japanese/Asian gamers aren’t as great though. Namely, no inFAMOUS and LittleBigPlanet for PS3 owners; no Killzone Liberation and Pursuit Force for PSP owners. I only have a PSP so I was planning to download those, but I guess I’ll have to settle for LittleBigPlanet and… actually the rest don’t sound interesting at all. Not sure if you can sign in using an US account to get the other games, but I probably won’t do it since I’m not even sure if I have another account to begin with (maybe) and it’s too much trouble to set up an account, download some games and leave them in my memory stick without ever playing them.

Forza 4 fueling preorders (Xbox 360)

The pre-order incentives don’t really apply to me but as usual (nowadays), you can get different cars by pre-ordering Forza Motorsport 4 from different retailers. There will also be general pre-order bonuses across all retailers, at least. Gift cars and custom layers will also be available based on your progress in Forza Motorsport 3 (which, for me, is not a lot). Also as usual, there will be a Collector’s Edition. Previous Limited Editions of the Forza Motorsport series didn’t really come with a lot, but they didn’t cost a lot either, so maybe this will be the same.

Forza Motorsport 4

Sleek cars coming soon.

Square Enix Tease Tomb Raider Trailer (PC, PS3, Xbox 360)

To be honest I haven’t played any Tomb Raider games (as with many other series) besides the Guardian of Light spin-off but I may just start off with this. Not because I’ve seen anything great (since there isn’t much news), but just because I want to start play a Tomb Raider game. :/

Tomb Raider

Nothing much to caption about this one...

Explosive New Battlefield 3 Footage (PC, PS3, Xbox 360)

Haven’t read/seen much about Battlefield 3 to be honest, but the little I have was enough to get me excited. There’s a 18 minute special here which showcases the new engine, snippets of the upcoming-upcoming DLC (of the upcoming game), a brief history of past Battlefield games etc.

Starcraft II: Heart of the Swarm cinematic leaks (PC)

Haven’t seen it since I don’t want to potentially spoil it for myself, but I skimmed through the article and it doesn’t seem particularly spoilerific. It’s apparently a promotional trailer so it’s probably something which will be shown before the game’s release anyway, compared to the leak which spoiled the game’s ending (which I hadn’t heard of previously).

Gears of War 3 Campaign Trailer is out! (Xbox 360)

Gears of War 3, Modern Warfare 3, Battlefield 3… plenty of titles with ‘3’ coming out soon. Awesome games too, if I may say so.

Gears of War 3

There's something very interesting on the screen they're watching.

Gears of War 3 US Pre-Order Exclusives Appear on the Web (Xbox 360)

Yep, retailer-specific pre-order bonuses are usual nowadays. You’ll get different character skins for pre-ordering at different retailers.

This entry was posted in Bargains, iOS, PC, PlayStation 3, Roundups, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

