Special Roundup November 9

Well, I haven’t updated my blog for about 4 months but I thought I would make (at least) one new post with Modern Warfare 3‘s release yesterday. After my previous post I was sick for a while so I barely touched my PC, after that I spent more time actually playing games and the “trend” of not posting just continued. Eventually I got a holiday job for 3 months so I didn’t have as much free time. Originally I thought I would have more free time when my semester started, ironically, since my timetable is really lax. Well, I wasn’t wrong, but I spent more time doing other stuff: reading, surfing the net etc. Recently I started learning Japanese as well, something I’ve wanted to do for about, well, 5 years. Maybe next time I’ll have more features on Japanese games and what not. (End preamble)

It’s been 4 years since Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare was first released, which marked the series’ (much-needed) departure from the World War II setting. Love it or hate it, Modern Warfare 3 is upon us. Haven’t had the opportunity to try it out yet though, waiting for the weekend to arrive…

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (360, PC, PS3) – 8.5/10

News Roundup

New sequels on the way

First off there’s Call of Duty and a new entry in Assassin’s Creed, both in 2012. Call of Duty is pretty much a regular fixture now, so no surprises there. The only question is it’s setting… Space COD anyone? As for Assassin’s Creed, it will be a ‘full-fledged’ sequel instead of a sub-titled game like Brotherhood and Revelations. With Saints Row: The Third less than a week away, Saints Row 4 is already in development (release date TBA). It will be ‘wilder’ than SR3, which is already pretty full of whack from the looks of it. Speaking of which, the Initiation Station has been up and running for awhile, if you haven’t checked it out already. You can create and customize your own character there and queue it to download once the game is released. Clothing-wise the options are pretty limited but that’s what the game itself is for.

Call of Duty: Elite facing launch snafus (360, PC, PS3)

As of now the Elite service is down, although I would’ve expected them to be able to handle it with all the pre-order figures and stuff. And the beta which was running for quite some time prior to MW3’s release. A beta, I have to say, that I actually tried. The stat-tracking is rather in-depth, and it’s fully accessible (or will be accessible once they sort everything out) online, whereas Halo Waypoint‘s online features are pretty limited compared to the 360 application (there’s also a Windows Phone 7 version, but the full experience still probably requires the 360). That said, I have yet to try out MW3 so I’m not 100% sure what the in-platform Elite interface is like, but based on the trailer, I’d say it’s more or less the same as the online site, with the exception of Theatre etc.

BioWare teases new project

Hard to say what it’ll be like, but with the exception of some of their earliest games, BioWare has never strayed from RPGs after all, but that said, their recent games (Mass Effect, Dragon Age and the not-as-recent Jade Empire) have more emphasis on action compared to their previous works (Baldur’s Gate, Neverwinter Nights, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic).

I'm guessing it's not a platformer, at any rate.

Now Playing: Modern Warfare 3, Assassin’s Creed: Relevations (360, PC, PS3)

Tons of gameplay footage of MW3 multiplayer and Revelations’ campaign.

Release Roundup

Oh! Edo Towns (iOS) – 4.5/5

Here is Kairosoft’s next iOS game, this time it’s set in Japan in the Edo period. Gameplay-wise, I’d say it’s similar to the town-building in Hot Springs Story mixed with the levelling elements in Pocket Academy. Although, to be honest, out of the last few releases I’ve only been playing Mega Mall Story so I can’t comment much on its similarity to the latter. In fact, I haven’t been playing iPhone games much generally, but Kairosoft fans will definitely enjoy this.

Be addicted all over again.

This entry was posted in iOS, PC, PlayStation 3, Roundups, Xbox 360 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

