25 Things I Want for Christmas in 2011 – Part 1

Seeing all the Christmas wishlists floating around, I thought it would be fun to do up one of mine too. It won’t be just game after game though. I’ll list 5 from various categories: Games (still gotta have ’em), Hardware, Accessories, Gaming-related and Non-gaming related.

Games

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Collector's Edition)

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Collector’s Edition)
US$147.87 at Amazon; US$172.69 at Play-Asia

This probably won’t be on the list of many gamers, due to the fact that they’ve already been playing it since its release. Unfortunately I’m not one of them though, and if I’m putting it in a wishlist, might as well wish for the Collector’s Edition. It comes with a huge (12″) statue, which makes carrying the box a pain on public transport, an art book and a making-of DVD. Not much to say about the game itself besides awesome. Although personally, I haven’t been playing RPGs much recently (my last completed RPG was Final Fantasy XIII, and possibly Eternal Sonata before that) due to lack of time, but Skyrim is definitely on my radar. The PC versions seem to have been sold out (although they are available via 3rd party retailers on Amazon for almost $200), so if you wanted that you could get the console version and sell the game itself.

Saints Row: The Third Platinum Pack Collector's Edition

Saints Row: The Third Platinum Pack Collector’s Edition
US$99.99 at Amazon

Actually I wasn’t aware that there was a LE version of Saints Row: The Third, but I’m not suprised anyway. Quite a mouthful though, Platinum Pack Collector’s Edition. You’d think a Collector’s Edition would suffice, especially considering the contents of it: a headset, soundtrack and the pre-order pack. Out of these, the headset is pretty much the main point of the CE, though I can’t say whether it’s worth it or not (quality-wise). For one thing though, it doesn’t work with the 360. But at least the game itself is a whole lot of fun… Crazy fun. Especially with a friend, because doing silly stuff with someone else makes it much more hilarious.

Catherine “Love is Over” Deluxe Edition
US$71.88 at Amazon

I like games and shows with quirky storylines, both of which are plenty in Japan, and Catherine definitely fits the bill here. Although the game is mostly puzzle solving and I’m not that big of a puzzle fan, there are always exceptions. Unfortunately, for some reason or other, the 360 version isn’t available where I’m at, much less the Deluxe Edition. Though I guess it’s not really surprising since the 360 doesn’t have much love when it comes to Japanese releases in the Asian region, or in Japan for that matter. *cough* Final Fantasy XIII and XIII-2 *cough* And actually it seems like the US version isn’t region-free anyway, so I would need a US set or a PS3 to play this, unfortunately.

Portal 2

Portal 2
US$46.79 at Amazon (it’s actually out of stock on Play-Asia, wow)

The only game on the list to not have a Limited Edition, which (as far as I know) has traditionally been the case for Valve games. I think I still haven’t gotten Portal 2 yet because I was busy with school when it was released, and during my holidays I was trying to clear my backlog (and also because I probably bought a new game or two then). The first Portal was a game I loved and completed on the PC and the 360 (and I was sorely tempted to get the Xbox Live Arcade version which pretty much the same game). By the time I end up buying this I guess the price should’ve dropped somewhat…?

Dark Souls Collector's Edition

Dark Souls Collector’s Edition
US$74.98 at Amazon (3rd party retailers), US$69.90 at Play-Asia

If anything I’d say I prefer the normal edition’s box art. Anyway, the game seems like the type to be a hit or miss among players, and for me I think it would be a hit. I like RPGs (although not as much as I used to, I guess) and action-adventure games, and Dark Souls is a nice blend of both.

Other great stuff: I didn’t include Modern Warfare 3, Gears of War 3, Battlefield 3 and Deus Ex: Human Revolution in the list because I already have them, but they’re definitely worth checking out. Assassin’s Creed: Revelations doesn’t quite make it because I haven’t played Brotherhood. There’s a whole lot of other games that are on my wishlist, but probably too many to list.

Hardware

PlayStation 3 Final Fantasy XIII-2 Lightning Edition Ver.2

PlayStation 3 (320GB) Final Fantasy XIII-2 Lightning Edition Ver.2
US$669 at Play-Asia

Actually I thought it would come with a special controller like this, but then again, the previous Final Fantasy XIII PS3 bundle only came with a matching white controller (although the LE version of the game had a special controller). In any case, it’s a limited edition Square Enix product, and I don’t have a PlayStation 3, so this would be awesome. As for the game, I can’t read Japanese text but I can more or less understand the speech, but this is more for the console than the game anyway. As far as I can tell, there doesn’t seem to be a LE version for the game alone in Japan, which is odd since there’s one for the U.S. release.

The good thing about the PS3 is that the games are region free, and Blu-ray region codes are pretty broad (Japan shares the same code as North and South America and Southeast Asia). Plus supposedly a lot of Blu-ray movies are region-free to begin with.

PlayStation Vita

PlayStation Vita (3G/Wi-Fi model)
US$539 at Play-Asia (Asian version)

To be honest I haven’t been checking up on the Vita much since its announcement, and I’m quite surprised at some of the stuff I’m reading now. 1) No removable battery, even though the battery life is only 3-5 hours of gameplay. 2) No video output. Actually it doesn’t affect me in any way but I would’ve thought that it would be a good way to show off the Vita at a friend’s house or something. 3) The pricing. Previously I’ve only heard of the U.S. pricing, which is pretty reasonable at US$299 for the 3G/Wi-Fi model, but now I realize that in other countries, it’s about $100 more expensive. And of course, even more so if you’re importing the earlier Japanese/Asian release. If not, you’ll have to wait 3 more months for the 22-23 February 2012 Western release. Game lineup looks (Japanese lineup is about the same) decent enough; if I were to get a Vita I would probably get Uncharted: Golden Abyss and Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3.

Nintendo 3DS The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D Special Edition

Nintendo 3DS The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D Special Edition
US$261.99 at Amazon

Not to sound like a broken recorder, but 1) I haven’t played a Zelda game and 2) before this I wasn’t aware that the 3DS was region-locked. I guess the latter isn’t much of a problem if you’re in the NA/EU region unless you fully understand Japanese and buy Japanese games occasionally. In my case I would have to do some research if I buy a local Asian set, since I’m not quite sure if it’s a separate region on its own. And if it is, whether US games would work. And, again, the good thing about Sony consoles is that they’re region-free.

As for games, the 3DS still doesn’t have any titles that would really make me want to buy the platform for (wishing for it is a different story). There are a couple that I am somewhat interested in, but they’re definitely not enough. Maybe the next Pokemon game will change my mind…

Razer Blade
US$2,799 at ???

The Blade boasts some impressive specs (it is a gaming laptop after all) and a 17.3″ screen, but it’s still pretty compact with a height of 0.88″ (2.24 cm) and a weight of 6.9 pounds (3.16 kg). There’s also the Switchblade UI which lets users customize key options, display extra in-game information, and also functions as a touchpad. Surprisingly there’s not much official information about it on the website, but it’s supposed to be out in time for Christmas. There’s just 5 days left and they could still release in time, but if you wanted to buy it as a gift you’d need more time to prepare and stuff. Then again, not many people would gift a 2.8k item, especially when it’s so awesome, you’d want it for yourself. You can learn more from the PAX 2011 Keynote Speech and Q&A:

  • Power supply is about a third of normal ones, or 5.9″ x 2.3″ x 0.7″.
  • Battery lasts about 6 hours while idle and 2.5 while gaming.
  • The Blade doesn’t have an optical drive.
  • HDD is 320 GB, but there may be models with different sizes in the future.
  • Battery is built-in.
  • The top Switchblade keys are fully customizable; you can set your own images and functions (e.g. press/touch a friend’s photo and send a Facebook/MSN message). It comes pre-loaded with hotkeys for games, and will be updated as games are released.
  • The bottom part is like a built-in smartphone, which is the case: while in a game, you can surf sites like YouTube (to look for walkthroughs) or Facebook (to chat with friends) etc. Razer is also working with developers to have various apps for it.
  • That’s the secondary mode if you have a mouse, the primary mode is a trackpad, which is FPSes
  • Overheating doesn’t seem like it’ll be an issue.
  • 7:21: “Can you talk about the durability with an aluminium case?” “It’s more durable than plastic.”
  • While other computers will have a blue USB 3.0 port, the Blade will have its own green port.

It ended up being more interesting than I thought, hence all the text.

Nokia Lumia 800

Nokia Lumia 800
US$649 at Amazon

I’m using an iPhone 3GS now but my next phone will probably be a Windows Phone 7. I love the simple and clean look of the Metro interface (which is also why I love WordPress) and it has Xbox Live after all. With the Windows 7.5 Mango update, the platform is more robust than before. App-wise there’s still a long way to go though, and apps were the reason I bought an iPhone. Ideally I would use a WP7 phone as a secondary phone while my main phone would be an iPhone (4S or whenever 5 comes out). Although the Lumia 800 isn’t particularly outstanding compared to the iPhone 4S or Android’s flagship phones, it’s probably one of the better (best?) WP7 phone available.

Other great stuff: I didn’t mention the 360 since, if it wasn’t apparent, I already have it. It’s becoming a great platform for casual gamers with the Kinect’s release and the recent dashboard update which adds a great deal of entertainment features, and a good way to get people starting on gaming (aside from the Wii). LE-wise, the 360 doesn’t have much to offer besides the Gears of War 3 bundle, which is probably the nicest-looking LE 360 to date. Also released this year is the Modern Warfare 3 bundle, which doesn’t look that great. Otherwise, the best option would be the Holiday Value bundle, which comes with Fable 3, Halo: Reach (digital code), 3 month Xbox Live Gold, a headset and the 360 S console with 250 GB HDD and wireless controller. Or, there’s the lower-tier 4GB with Kinect bundle at Amazon, which also nets you a $100 voucher, which is almost equivalent to 2 free games.

Carry on to Part 2 for the Accessories, Gaming-related and Non-gaming related wishlist.

Image credits: As linked (Amazon, Play-Asia, Sony, Razer)


Well, that turned out longer than expected so I had to split them into two parts (wanted to split them into 5 parts actually). That and because I have yet to finish the other sections… So coming up next are the Accessories, Gaming-related and Non-gaming related categories.

On a related note, Xbox Live is having a Christmas/New Year sale. For the next 12 days (until 2 January 2012), there will be a daily offer on top of a bunch of special offers. Today’s deal is Bastion, going for 600 MSP (down from 1200), a game which I have been wanting to get for some time. As for the other deals (which are mostly 50% off), there’s the L.A. Noire DLC pass for 480 MSP, which is what you want to get if you have more than 1 case to download (there’s 4 in total at 320 MSP each, and the pass also nets you various suits and The Badge Pursuit Challenge).

Other Xbox Live Arcade titles (all 50% off) are: Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet (600 MSP), Renegade Ops (600 MSP), Plants vs Zombies (600 MSP), Peggle (400 MSP), Peggle Nights (Peggle DLC; 200 MSP), BloodRayne Betrayal (600 MSP), After Burner Climax (400 MSP) and Portal: Still Alive (600 MSP). There are also 2 full games, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga. Prices for both vary by region. The remaining offers are for avatar items, if you’re into those. The next few days’ offers should be pretty good too, so better get ready your Microsoft Points.

As it turns out, I was just mentioning about how I wanted to get Portal. I’ll need to top up my account though, since I already bought Bastion. Renegade Ops looks like a fun dual-stick vehicular shooter, so I’m probably getting that as well, and possibly After Burner Climax. I already have Plants vs Zombies, which is a great defense game (although you might’ve already played it on one or more of the numerous platforms it’s on).

This entry was posted in Bargains, Editorials, Features and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 25 Things I Want for Christmas in 2011 – Part 1

  1. ramblinganicdotes says:

    Skyrim is epic, and Portal 2 is amazing… What did you think of Bastion?

    • phazer says:

      Haven’t played it a whole lot, but love it so far. Fun combat and the upgrading system is pretty nifty. A highly polished game overall I’d say. And it’s this week’s XBL Deal of the Week too (probably not many days left though). :D

  2. ramblinganicdotes says:

    I was just curious. I 100%ed the day after it came out, because I have no life and it’s a brilliant game :P

Leave a Reply

